Union ministers, Karnataka CM key guests at ETSA 2022 awards night

Union ministers, Karnataka CM key guests at ETSA 2022 awards night
Union cabinet ministers Piyush Goyal and Ashwini Vaishnav along with the chief minister of Karnataka Basavaraj Bommai will be the guests of honour at a glittering ceremony to celebrate the winners of Startup Awards on November 19. The star-studded event in Bengaluru, which will also play host to a galaxy of business leaders, entrepreneurs, investors and policymakers marks the eighth edition of the country’s most coveted awards for entrepreneurial excellence.
Goyal, union minister for commerce and industry, consumer affairs, food & public distribution, and textiles, and Vaishnav, union minister or railways, communications, electronics & information technology, will join chief minister Bommai to engage with the powered gathering. If the technology and startup sectors are to play a pivotal role in India’s quest to emerge as a $5 trillion economy by 2025, they will need to work in close collaboration with policymakers and government.
Goyals interaction with the industry at the ceremony is expected to provide insights Into the government's push to attract foreign investments into the country amid global rush to diversify supply chains and manufacturing in a post-pandemic world. At the high octane event entrepreneurs and investors can also expect key updates on important upcoming legislations - including the draft Telecom Bill, the revised Personal Data Protection bill as well as recent changes to IT rules - all of which can directly affect the business operations of scores of homegrown startups in addition to larger internet and telecom companies.
India is the third largest startup ecosystem behind the US and China. The winners of these elite awards for startup excellence were chosen at a virtual meeting that lasted for more than two hours on October 28. A stellar jury led by Infosys CEO and MD Salil Parekh picked the winners in nine categories from a shortlist of 45 contenders. Razorpay, the Bengaluru-based online payments solutions company, won top honours as the Startup of the Year, while Falguni Nayar, founder and CEO of Nykaa, bagged the award in the newly launched CEO of the Year category. Shekhar Kirani, partner, Accel, won the Midas Touch Award for Best Investor.
Other top industry leaders who participated in the jury deliberations included Shailendra Singh, MD, Sequoia India and Southeast Asia; Hemant Taneja, MD, General Catalyst; Girish Mathrubootham, founder & CEO, Freshworks Inc; Arundhati Bhattacharya, CEO, Salesforce India; Sriharsha Majety, cofounder and CEO, Swiggy; Sahil Barua, cofounder and CEO, Delhivery; Satyan Gajwani, vice chairman, Times Internet Ltd; Lizzie Chapman, cofounder and CEO, ZestMoney; and Sanjeev Bikhchandani, cofounder, InfoEdge.
The jury awarded the prize for Bootstrap Champ to Noise, a smart wearables brand with sizable revenue and profits, while the prize for Top Innovator went to Eyestem, a Bengaluru-based cell therapy company. Cloud telephony platform Exotel was chosen as the winner in the Comeback Kid category while Solinas Integrity, a deep-tech firm founded at IIT Madras that develops robotic solutions for the pipeline and sanitation industry, was adjudged as the Best-on-Campus. Smita Deorah, co-CEO, Lead, an edtech company, was the winner in the Woman Ahead category and plastic recycling startup Banyan Nation bagged the prize for Social Enterprise.