Nyong'o, Fassbender Among 271 Invited For Academy Membership

Nyong'o, Fassbender Among 271 Invited For Academy Membership

Friday, 27 June 2014, 12:19 Hrs
cmt right
Comment Right
cmt right
cmt right
Printer Print Email Email

LOS ANGELES: Oscar-winner Lupita Nyong`o and Michael Fassbender, her co-star in best picture winner '12 Years a Slave' are among the 271 artistes invited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for its membership.

"This year's class of invitees represents some of the most talented, creative and passionate filmmakers working in our industry today," said Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs in a statement here.

"Their contributions to film have entertained audiences around the world, and we are proud to welcome them to the Academy."
Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy`s membership in 2014.

Other noted names from the field of acting include 'Captain Phillips' breakout star Barkhad Abdi, '12 Years a Slave' Paul Dano, 'Blue Jasmine' star Sally Hawkins, 'Hunger Games' star Josh Hutcherson, 'Inception' star Cillian Murphy, June Squibb of 'Nebraska' fame, Jason Statham.

`The Grand Budapest Hotel's casting director Douglas Aibel, Kerry Barden of 'Dallas Buyers Club' fame and Nikki Barrett are in the list.

The director's list include 'Omar' helmer Hany Abu-Assad, Paolo Sorrentino of `The Great Beauty, Jean-Marc Vallee of 'Dallas Buyers Club' and Thomas Vinterberg of 'The Hunt' fame.

The list of invitees include members from documentary, executives, film editors, makeup artists and hairstylists, musicians, producers among other categories.

Read More: Amitabh Bachchan Unveils First Poster of His TV Series 'Yudh'

Source: PTI
Write your comment now
Submit Reset