About us:


Andhra University is a premier Institute of higher education in India, was established in 1926. Located on the uplands of Visakhapatnam, 'The City of Destiny', the natural beauty of the University campus is breathtaking, with the spread of serene blue shade of the 'Bay of Bengal' on one side of it and on the other, beautiful green Kailasagiri hill range. Sir Dr. C.R.Reddy was the founder Vice-Chancellor of the Andhra University.

Andhra University College of Engineering (Autonomous), Visakhapatnam, is the campus college of University. At the time of inception, was of only a Department of Engineering with Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Electrical Engineering as the main branches. In the year 1960, the Department of Engineering was shifted to the present spacious North campus spreading over 150 acres of land. The Department of Chemical Technology, instituted in 1933, was also shifted to the same campus in 1962, adding strength to the Engineering Departments. The trifurcation of the University colleges in 1966, led to the inception of the College of Engineering (Autonomous) as a separate constituent of the Andhra University.

At present, the College of Engineering (Autonomous) consists of 12 Engineering and 4 Basic Sciences departments, totalling to 16 departments, offering 15 Under-Graduate Engineering day-time programmes and 4 UG Engineering part-time programmes; 28 Post-Graduate Engineering programmes, 1 MCA and 3 M.Sc. programmes in various departments. All the departments are also running Ph.D. programmes in different fields of research.

The AU College of Engineering (Autonomous) has acquired considerable reputation in the country and has several Centres of Excellence in various fields carrying out research in specialized areas. These include International Center for Bioinformatics, Advanced Center for Nano Technology, Center for Biotechnology and Center for Phase Equilibrium Thermodynamic in the Department of Chemical Engineering, Center for Energy Systems and Center for Condition monitoring & Vibration Diagnostics in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Center for Remote Sensing and Information System in the Department of Geo Engineering and Centre for Research on Off-Shore Structures in the Department of Civil Engineering.

The AU College of Engineering (Autonomous) graded along with the Andhra University by National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC) and awarded a rating of A + (85%).

The Government of India through its National Policy of Education, implemented the Technical Education Quality Improvement Programme (TEQIP) for overall development of Technical Education in the country. The AU Autonomous College of Engineering is one of the four Lead Institutions selected in the state of Andhra Pradesh for World Bank Aid.

Engineering branches:
B.E. Civil Engineering
B.E. Civil Environmental Engineering
B.E. Mechanical Engineering
B.E. Electronics and Communication Engineering
B.E. Electrical and Electronics Engineering
B.E. Metallurgical Engineering
B.E. Mechanical with Marine Engineering
B.E. Naval Architecture
B.Tech. Instrumentation Engineering
B.Tech. Chemical Engineering
B.Tech. Chemical Engineering with Petroleum Engineering
B.Tech. Chemical Engineering with Bio-Technology
B.Tech. Geo-Informatics
B.Tech. Ceramic Technology
B.Tech. Bio-Technology
B.Tech. Electronics & Instrumentation
B.Tech. Information Technology
B.Tech. Computer Science and Systems Engineering

Contact details:
College of Engineering (Autonomous),
Andhra University,
Visakhapatnam - 530 003,
Andhra Pradesh, INDIA.

Phone No:91-891-284 4771