New secretaries for telecom, defence production
Facebook Twitter google+ RSS Feed

New secretaries for telecom, defence production

Monday, 31 December 2007, 08:00 Hrs
Printer Print Email Email
New Delhi: Senior Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer Siddharth Behuria has been named the new secretary at the department of telecommunications, it was announced Monday.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has also approved another IAS officer, Pradeep Kumar, as the secretary for defence production, an official statement said.

Behura, a 1973 batch officer with the Uttar Pradesh cadre, is at present special secretary in the ministry of environment and forests. He replaces D.S. Mathur in the communications ministry.

Kumar is a 1972 batch officer of the Haryana cadre and replaces K.P. Singh.

These appointments apart, the cabinet also approved extension of tenure to Arun Bhatnagar, a retired IAS officer, as secretary in the National Advisory Council till April 30, 2008.
Source: IANS
Write your comment now
Submit Reset