Indian scientists win awards for medicine, physics
Facebook Twitter google+ RSS Feed

Indian scientists win awards for medicine, physics

Monday, 20 December 2004, 08:00 Hrs
Printer Print Email Email
NEW DELHI :Two Indian scientists were among eight winners of the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Prizes, 2004, that awards researchers from developing countries.

Shiv Kumar Sarin, a gastro enterologist from G.B. Pant Hospital, New Delhi, received the award for medical sciences while Spenta R. Wadia from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, won the physics prize, reported the Sci

The prizes worth US$ 10,000 will be presented at the next TWAS general meeting, which takes place in Alexandria, Egypt, in November 2005. The names were announced last month.

The other scientists who won awards include, Mohammed J. Malakouti from Tehran, for his research on fertilisers suited to the soil and crops of Iran.

Another soil researcher, Adolpho José Melfi of Brazil, won the prize for earth sciences. His studies on tropical soil formation have led to applications in agriculture and addressing of environmental problems not only in Brazil but also in the neighbouring Latin American nations and west Africa.

Jorge Kalil from Brazil won the prize for biology while Miguel Angel Blesa from Argentina won the prize for chemistry.

From China, Aizhen Li of the Shanghai Institute of Microsystems and Technology won the prize for engineering sciences and Yiming Long of the Nankai Institute of Mathematics won the prize for mathematics.

Source: IANS
Experts on SiliconIndia
Santhosh  K
Sr. Soft. Engg.
Oracle India
Nehal Vyas
Sr. Team Lead
Cyberoam Tech.
Rani Malli
Sr. Director
Sr. Executive
Vijay Balkrishna Konduskar
Business Consultant
Imans Web Tech
Dr L P  Sharma
Technical Director
Reena Khanna
Dellas  Asse
sys-network admin
Computer Station
Write your comment now
Submit Reset