India, Denmark sign MoU on labour mobility
Facebook Twitter google+ RSS Feed

India, Denmark sign MoU on labour mobility

Wednesday, 30 September 2009, 01:49 Hrs
Printer Print Email Email
New Delhi: India and Denmark Tuesday signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) on Labour Mobility Partnership to promote orderly migration of Indian workers to meet the growing demand of workforce in the Danish economy.

Overseas Indian Affairs Minister Vayalar Ravi, who is currently on a tour to Denmark, signed the MoU with Danish Minister of Refugee, Immigration and Integration Affairs Birther Ronn Hornbech at Copenhagen.

"This is the first MoU on Labour Mobility Partnership with any European nation," said a release issued by the overseas Indian affairs ministry here.

"It will facilitate promotion of orderly migration of workers from India to meet the growing demand for skilled and trained workers in the Danish economy and prevent illegal/irregular migration," it said.

According to the MoU, there would be cooperation between the two countries on "labour market expansion, employment facilitation, organised entry and orderly migration and exchange of information and cooperation in introducing best practices for mutual benefit" for qualified workers within their national objectives and the relevant laws.

It assures "equal treatment of workers with the nationals of the receiving state, undertaking mutually beneficial studies for recruitment and identifying emerging sectors in Danish economy that require qualified workers, promoting direct contact between the employers in Denmark and the state managed or private recruiting agencies in India, without intermediaries to facilitate regular and orderly recruitment of workers."

The MoU also provide "protection and welfare of all categories of workers under the labour laws and other relevant laws of the host country."

It also provides for constitution of a Joint Working Group (JWG) of both the countries.
Source: IANS
Experts on SiliconIndia
Santhosh  K
Sr. Soft. Engg.
Oracle India
Nehal Vyas
Sr. Team Lead
Cyberoam Tech.
Rani Malli
Sr. Director
Sr. Executive
Vijay Balkrishna Konduskar
Business Consultant
Imans Web Tech
Dr L P  Sharma
Technical Director
Reena Khanna
Dellas  Asse
sys-network admin
Computer Station
Write your comment now
Submit Reset