javascript
Join today     Sign In
Menu
Sign in to follow 's advice will appear in your account when you log in. Follow specific Community Members and never miss out on their views and insights. Build a group of Members who you want to listen to.
Email:       Password:  
Don't have SiliconIndia account? Sign up    Forgot your password? Reset
Close
Ask Sushanta Roy Chowdhury for Advice
If your advice request is relevant to other Community members, our Editorial team may choose to send this request to all Experts to attract a wider range of answers and share them with the Community. Rest Assured, we will protect your privacy (unless you recommend otherwise).
Advice Request
Community > Sushanta Roy Chowdhury
Sushanta Roy Chowdhury

Sushanta Roy Chowdhury

self employed

right choice placements

twitter
facebook

Sushanta Roy Chowdhury is a member of:

Sushanta Roy Chowdhury's Advice

Being Honest

Be honest, be positive, do not allow your ego and your negative thinking come between you and your goal. Be focused,success will be yours, definite... more>>
Couple of years from now
I would like to be a Executive Director of a progressive and professional company 5 years from now, and I am confident that I'll steer the company to become a true multinational.
My achievements
In the Maruti dealership, in 1997, I was the management representative for ISO 9001, we have cleared the ISO process in just 2 months, without and NCO (Non conformity report) we were the first Maruti dealership to clear the ISO audit in Western India., I am a team player, I think I have excellent man management skills and I can motivate and steer a team out from an adverse condition.
Initiative to develop a country
Professionals can use their expertise to educate his fellow team members, make them self sufficient and knowledgeable, lead them from the front, and do it without expecting any return.
Brief description about me
My name is Sushanta Roy Chowdhury, Sushanta is my name and Roy Chowdhury as surname, I am a Bengali, born and brought up in Kolkata. I have completed my education , I am M.Stat (M.Sc Statistics) from Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata.
I started my career as a Lecturer in Statistics, (from 1987) in a college in Nashik. I have completed 2 years as a lecturer, then I have joined a marketing company Methodex Infres Ltd, selling Minolta Japan, Office Automation Products, in 1989) as I was always fascinated for a marketing job, to meet new people, explore new avenues etc.
In 1994, I joined a Maruti/ Ashok Leyland dealership in Nashik, as an Asst. Branch Manager, it was my first experience as a profit centre head,and I became Branch Manager, after 2 years. In 2000, I joined a manufacturing company as Vice President (Marketing), I was handling their Car Care Products portfolio, which I continued till 2011.
In 2012, I joined a Honda Car dealership in Nashik as a Branch Manager.
Right now I am working in the same group, bur with a different division as a Operation head, covering Pan India operation.
My role model
Dhirubhai Ambani, from a modest start he become a multi billion dollar conglomerate, by his sheer guts, confidence on himself, and his ability to deliver what is promised.
Thoughts on Education system of our country
India need more vocational based education that theory. We churn out over 18 lakhs Engineers and Over 15 lakhs Business Management graduates every year, how many of them are employable? Education system will improve only when you have more personal contacts, understand the expectation of the students, make them more responsible towards their parents and overall towards the whole society, and make them proud to be an Indian. Let them do some social service like helping the old and the needy.
Important lesson learned
When I was in the middle of my career , I lost a lot of money because of Bad Investment Decisions, lot of people cheated me because I trusted them. But I had faith on God, I knew I will bounce back with more vigor, more energy and I will make up 100 times more than what I have lost. Now I am in the progressive mode, I am 100% confident I will make up what I have lost, and over 100 times in the next 10 years.
Important decision
In my previous company as a Vice President, I have coordinated with 6 OEMs simultaneously to get approval for our products, and we become successful among four of them, the entire process took more than 2 years, sometimes we camped in OEM places for over a month, but we were confident, we had patient and it paid off.
More about myself
Be honest, be positive, do not allow your ego and your negative thinking come between you and your goal. Be focused,success will be yours, definitely.
Degree that I recommend
I would like to complete my Doctorate in Literature, sometimes after 12 years when I become 60 years. I would also write motivational books for people those who has lost faith in themselves, bring them back into the systems.
Ensuring success
I read lot of motivational books, I drive and motivate my children in personal life, I drive my team from the front and motivate them, reprimand them in private and appreciate them in public, believe in team work, I'll grow only if I let them grow, because in the highway of life, no one progresses alone, it is the team work which will take you forward.
Qualities needed to become a successful leader
Honesty, ability to confess mistakes even you commit any, confident and self reliant.
He should speak well and should have a good listening skill.
My strongest skill
I am a good listener, my attitude is always positive, I really see opportunities during adverse situations, and I try to get any adverse situation to turn positive and in our favor.
My family background
My dad was in railways, he stood 3rd in SSC exam, we were 9 children, 4 brothers and 5 sisters, I am the youngest of them, and most pampered. When I was 12 years old and in 8th standard, my dad retired, and we have seen tough time, I used to teach 8th standard student when I was in 9th standard, to pay my tutor's fees. I did my college while paying all my fees by doing tuition only. I came to Nashik for appearing for an interview and got selected in the senior college, and I stayed back in Nashik.
Now my wife is a housewife, My daughter who is elder, 21 years, is in her 4th year of architecture, my son, 14 years old is appearing for his 10th standard exam next year-2014. My wife is a housewife with a lot of grits and guts, she keeps the house running, she is sister of a fighter pilot in IAF, her dad was a retired senior defense official, and they have an excellent family bond.
Scrum Master certification | CSM certification | Certified ScrumMaster course | Scrum Master training | Certified ScrumMaster training | Knowledgehut Blog
Most viewed stories - Don't Miss (1-5 of 15)
Solution Architect
YASH Technologies
Accountant
Green Qatar Enterprise W.L.L.
CEO
Agile Financial Technologies
Software Engineer
Tangoe India Softech Services Pvt. Ltd.
Professor
IFIM B-School, Bangalore