Gmail Adds 6 Indic Languages For Feature Phones
Facebook Twitter google+ RSS Feed

Gmail Adds 6 Indic Languages For Feature Phones

By SiliconIndia   |   Friday, 29 March 2013, 12:14 Hrs
cmt right
Comment Right
cmt right
cmt right
Printer Print Email Email

Bangalore: Gmail, the email service provider of Google, has announced the support for six Indic languages on feature phones. Besides, on language front, Google has also updated Translate for Android.

According to the official Gmail blog, feature phones can now access Gmail in Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil and Telugu languages. The company predicts that nearly half a billion new users from across the globe will join the Internet between this year and 2015.

Considering the fact that majority of them will be first time Internet users on mobile, language support will be an added advantage where they will able to communicate in their native languages. As India is a country with diverse culture with more than 100 languages and thousands of alphabets used every day, Google is trying  to extend its Gmail services to expand its network. Till now Gmail consists over 425 million active users worldwide.

Read more: Google Is Killing These 8 Heavily Used Products

Experts on SiliconIndia
Santhosh  K
Sr. Soft. Engg.
Oracle India
Nehal Vyas
Sr. Team Lead
Cyberoam Tech.
Rani Malli
Sr. Director
Sr. Executive
Vijay Balkrishna Konduskar
Business Consultant
Imans Web Tech
Dr L P  Sharma
Technical Director
Reena Khanna
Dellas  Asse
sys-network admin
Computer Station
Write your comment now
Submit Reset