Suryakumar Wins Men's T20I Cricketer; Matthews Secures Women's Title

Suryakumar Wins Men's T20I Cricketer; Matthews Secures Women's Title
For the second consecutive year, the dynamic Indian batsman, Suryakumar Yadav, clinched the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award. Meanwhile, Hayley Matthews, the all-rounder and captain from the West Indies, secured the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year accolade. Adding to his achievements, Suryakumar Yadav was also appointed as the captain of the ICC Men's T20I team of the year for 2023. Displaying exceptional form, he amassed 733 runs at an impressive average of 48.86 and a striking strike rate of 155.95 in 17 T20I innings throughout 2023, outshining competitors like Mark Chapman from New Zealand, Alpesh Ramjani from Uganda, and Sikandar Raza from Zimbabwe to claim the prestigious honor.
His first T20I knock of the year was a mere seven against Sri Lanka, but he shined in the next two matches with scores of 51 (36) and 112 not out (51) in Pune and Rajkot respectively. An innings of 83 (44) against the West Indies in Providence, Guyana, in August was followed by a knock of 61 (45) in Lauderhill, Florida, USA. Suryakumar also went on to take the T20I leadership role of a young India side towards the end of the year. He made half-centuries against Australia (80 off 42 balls) and South Africa (56 from 36 balls), before posting a century off just 56 balls in India's final T20I of the year in Johannesburg.
“I hope that I can continue this success alongside my teammates for what will be a huge year of T20I cricket ahead, with the Men’s T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies just around the corner", said Suryakumar in an ICC statement. Similarly, mirroring Suryakumar's achievements, Hayley Matthews emerged as the leading run-scorer for the year, amassing 700 runs in 14 matches with a commendable strike rate of 132.32. Additionally, she showcased her prowess in off-spin bowling, securing 19 wickets at an impressive average of 16.21.
Her extraordinary unbeaten 99 in the first game of the series against Australia was overshadowed by her mind-blowing 132 in a run-chase of 213 in Sydney. Acing the world-record run-chase in women's T20Is saw Hayley break several records including that of the highest individual score in a women’s T20I run-chase. Hayley staved off close competition from Sri Lanka captain Chamari Athapaththu, Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry and England left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone. “I’ve been pretty blessed to have a good year wearing the West Indies colours, performing really well and helping the team".
"This is one of those awards that I’m going to cherish forever and knowing that it can make our West Indies fans home in the Caribbean and around the world happy is what motivates me to go out there and do my best", said Hayley. Hayley Matthews set a remarkable record by accumulating a total of 310 runs in the series against Australia, marking the highest individual score by any player in a women's T20I bilateral series. Notably, she achieved an impressive feat with eight consecutive Player of the Match awards, securing three in a preceding series in Ireland and two each from ICC Women’s T20 World Cup matches in South Africa against Ireland and Pakistan.
Source: IANS