ICC Men's T20 WC'24: India Secure T20 Semifinals Spot with Win Over Australia

ICC Men's T20 WC'24: India Secure T20 Semifinals Spot with Win Over Australia
Kuldeep Yadav and Arshdeep Singh played pivotal roles in India's remarkable comeback with the ball as they secured a spot in the semifinals of the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup. India clinched a crucial 24-run victory over Australia in their final Super Eight stage match at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium. Captain Rohit Sharma set the stage with a blistering 92 off 41 balls, propelling India to a commanding total of 205/5. Despite a formidable start from Australia's opener Travis Head, who smashed a rapid 76 off 43 balls, India's determined effort ensured victory was within reach throughout the match.
Kuldeep Yadav's spell of 2-24, which included the dismissal of Glenn Maxwell, and Arshdeep Singh's 3-37 ensured that Australia could only manage 181/7 in their allotted 20 overs. This result means India finishes the Super Eight stage unbeaten and advances to the semifinals, where they will meet defending champions England in Guyana. On the other hand, Australia's fate now hinges on Afghanistan's match against Bangladesh at St. Vincent; a loss for Afghanistan will knock Australia out of the competition. In pursuit of India's 205, David Warner departed for six runs, caught by a diving first slip off Arshdeep's bowling.
Mitchell Marsh escaped a dismissal on zero when Rishabh Pant stumbled while chasing a catch off his pull shot. Later, Marsh was given another lifeline on five runs when Arshdeep Singh couldn't hold onto a catch during his follow-through. Marsh capitalized on these opportunities by hitting boundaries, starting with two fours off Arshdeep's bowling and finishing the third over with a massive six over mid-wicket.
Head joined the boundary-hitting spree by slashing and pulling Jasprit Bumrah for two fours, followed by smashing a full toss for four through point. Marsh feasted on Axar Patel’s poor balls by walloping him for four and six respectively, followed by Head lofting and heaving Hardik Pandya for two sixes as Australia ended Power-play at 65/1. Head carried on to deal in boundaries hitting a four over Hardik’s head and pulling with ease for six.
Amid intense pressure, Kuldeep Yadav ended the 81-run partnership for the second wicket when Mitchell Marsh attempted a sweep shot, only for Axar Patel to time his jump perfectly at deep square leg, stretching his right hand upwards to take a stunning catch. Travis Head aggressively scored three boundaries off Hardik Pandya in the tenth over, with the second boundary bringing up his fifty from just 24 balls. Glenn Maxwell added to the excitement by cleverly guiding Ravindra Jadeja's first delivery between short third-man and point for a four, followed by two daring reverse sweeps for another boundary and a six. Despite these efforts, India responded magnificently thereafter.
Attempting to take on Kuldeep Yadav, Maxwell charged down the pitch aiming to play across the line but was completely deceived by the googly, resulting in his stumps being disturbed. Shortly after, Marcus Stoinis attempted a reverse sweep off Axar Patel but was caught by backward point off the rebound. Jasprit Bumrah made a comeback by deceiving Travis Head with a slower delivery, inducing him to miscue a shot to cover, ending his innings at 76 runs. Arshdeep Singh returned to dismiss Matthew Wade and Tim David in quick succession, both caught by short third man, effectively securing the game in India’s favor.
Source: IANS