5 most unlucky dismissals in cricket history

5 most unlucky dismissals in cricket history

In the world of cricket, we often witness many events on the ground, be it amazing and innovative shots by the batters or skillful bowling strategies by bowlers or inventions of different types of deliveries. However, aside from these, there have been a few instances where batters were dismissed in the unluckiest manner, making headlines in cricket world after the match. While checking the live cricket score of the matche­­­s, fans didn’t get to know about these bizarre dismissals and hence we’ve curated a list to bring it to their attention.

Let's delve into the list of five batters who were dismissed in the unluckiest manner:

1. Amit Mishra, Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2014

The IPL has always been high on drama and action ever since its inception. Some comic and heated moments keep the entertainment alive for fans. One such incident happened during 2014 edition in a game between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals when Amit Mishra was batting while the team was struggling to get runs.

During the death over, Mishra went for the big heave, but missed making any contact with the bat. The keeper for RR, Sanju Samson, was quick to throw the ball back towards the stumps, but there was a shy at the stumps as Mishra tried to grab a run. The bowler, James Faulkner, grabbed the ball, and went for the hit, but to no avail as the batter was still out of his ground.

However, the batter, unaware of the danger, casually started to walk back to his crease. But Samson was clever enough to finally find the throw on spot, as the ball crashed through the stumps while Mishra was still out of his crease. The mode of dismissal is still afresh in fans’ minds for its uniqueness. The incident also makes it to one of the most hilarious ones in the IPL.

2. Ravi Bopara, 5th ODI, England tour of Australia 2014

In an ODI between England and Australia, Ravi Bopara's unfortunate stumping altered the course of the game. Attempting to guide the ball to third man, Bopara missed, and a blinded Matthew Wade fumbled the catch. The ball dislodged the stumps with Bopara's foot momentarily airborne. After careful scrutiny by the third umpire, Bopara was deemed stumped as Australia snatched victory from England's grasp.

3. Hilton Cartwright, Western Australia vs NSW, Sheffield Shield 2019

During a Sheffield Shield clash in 2019, where numerous fans were following the match updates through cricket live score, Hilton Cartwright fell victim to an unusual sequence of events. While facing part-timer Jason Sangha's leg spin, Cartwright's powerful pull shot struck the helmet of short-leg fielder Nick Larkin. The rebound was neatly caught by Sangha, turning what would have been an illegitimate dismissal pre-2017 into a legitimate wicket, as per the updated cricket rules.

4. Andrew Symonds, 1st ODI, VB Series 2005

In the 2005 VB Series opener, Andrew Symonds was in a destructive mood until a comedic twist of fate befell him. Symonds smashed a powerful shot down the ground, only to hit non-striker Michael Clarke. The ball then found its way into the hands of Tillakaratne Dilshan, resulting in a dismissal.

5. Alastair Cook, 3rd Test, Ashes 2015

In the heat of the Ashes battle in 2015, England's captain Alastair Cook fell victim to an interesting catch by Adam Voges. A strong shot by Cook disappeared from view, only for Voges to miraculously trap the ball between his chest and right armpit. The catch left commentators and players in disbelief, with David Gower exclaiming on air, "He's caught it without having seen it."

6. Peter Nevill, Melbourne Stars vs Melbourne Renegades, BBL 2016

Cricket enthusiasts were treated to an extraordinary run-out during a BBL clash between Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades in 2016. Leg-spinner Adam Zampa bowled a flighted delivery to Dwayne Bravo. Bravo played the shot but Zampa in his follow through found an unintended target in non-striker Peter Nevill. A deflection off Nevill's bat resulted in a direct hit on Zampa's nose, then onto the stumps. Nevill, initially more concerned about Zampa's welfare, found himself run out. Umpire Geoff Joshua's decision left Nevill applauding the sportsmanship displayed under these bizarre circumstances and that was really a piece of big cricket news.