SSC CGL Selection Process: Exam to be Conducted in Two Tiers Now

SSC CGL Selection Process: Exam to be Conducted in Two Tiers Now

SSC CGL official notification has been released for the 2022 session on September 17, 2022. According to it, the selection process has been updated. The recruitment is going to be conducted in two tiers only. Until the 2021-22 session of SSC CGL exam, there were 4 tiers in total.

In the latest SSC CGL selection process, both Tier 1 and Tier 2 consist of Objective Type Mutiple Choice Questions. Except for the English Comprehension portions of the exam, all the questions will be set in English and Hindi languages. Both the tiers have negative markings for wrong answers.

SSC CGL Tier 1 exam consists of 1 paper with four sections. Each section has 25 questions for a maximum of 50 marks. The duration of the exam is 1 hour. The four sections of the exam are listed below.

  • General Intelligence and Reasoning
  • General Awareness
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Comprehension.

The exam pattern for Tier 1 is the same as previous years but that of Tier 2 has been changed. Tier 2 now comprises of 3 papers instead of 4. Paper 1 is compulsory for all the candidates appearing for the SSC CGL exam, irrespective of their preferred post. On the contrary, Paper 2 is for the candidates applying for the post of Junior Statistical Officer (JSO) in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, and Paper 3 is only for those candidates who choose Assistant Audit Officer/ Assistant Accounts Officer as their preferred post.

The compulsory paper of SSC CGL Tier 2 i.e. Paper 1 consists of 2 sessions with time durations of 2 hours and 15 minutes (Session I) and 15 minutes (Session II) respectively. There are a total of 3 sections in the paper, each consisting of 2 modules. The first two sections and Module 1 of the third section is conducted in Session I. Whereas, Module 2 of the third section is conducted in Session II. The details of SSC CGL Tier 2 Paper 1 are tabulated below for a better understanding.



Module and Subject

Number of Question

Maximum Marks

Session I

Section I


Module 1: Mathematical Abilities



Module 2: Reasoning and General Intelligence


Section II

Module 1: English Language and Comprehension



Module 2: General Awareness


Section III

Module 1: Computer Knowledge Module



Session II

Module 2: Data Entry Speed Test Module

One Data Entry Task


Section III of the paper is qualifying in nature i.e. the scores of this section will not be considered while determining the cutoff marks. However, the candidates will have to qualify all the sections of Paper 1 in order to clear Tier 2 exam. It must be noted that there is a penalty of 1 marks for each wrong answer in the first two sections.

The exam pattern for papers 2 and 3 of SSC CGL Tier 2 exam does not contain any such sections or modules and is fairly simple in comparison. Each of them consists of 100 questions. The time duration per paper is 2 hours. More details about the same are given here.



Number of Questions

Maximum Marks

Paper 2




Paper 3

General Studies (Finance and Economics)



The second and the third papers of SSC CGL Tier 2 exam consists of a negative marking of 0.50 marks per wrong answer. It must be noted that the three papers will be conducted in separate shifts/ days.

The candidates clearing both the tiers will have to appear for the Document Verification round in order to be shortlisted for recruitment. Along with these selection process mentioned above, there are some specific posts under SSC CGL vacancies that require certain Physical Standards, Physical Tests and Medical Standards. These tests will be conducted by the respective Department/ Organisation/ Ministry after final selection and nomination of candidates by the Staff Selection Commission. Such posts and departments are mentioned in the list below.

  • Inspector (Central Excise)- CBIC
  • Inspector (Examiner)- CBIC
  • Inspector (Preventive Officer)- CBIC
  • Inspector- CBN
  • Sub-Inspector- CBN, Ministry of Finance
  • Sub-Inspector/ Junior Intelligence Officer- NCB, MHA
  • Sub-Inspector- CBI
  • Sub-Inspector- NIA
  • Upper Division Clerk- BRO, Ministry of Defence

The physical and medical criteria set for these posts vary and depends upon the conducting department. If any candidates fails in any of the tests, his/her candidature will be cancelled. He/she will not be subsequently considered for other posts/departments. Thus, it is important that the candidates check their eligibility before choosing their preferred post.

The detailed eligibility criteria, exam dates and application process are mentioned in the official notification released by SSC. It is available on the official website for the aspirants to download.