World's Top 10 Politicians Who Won the Nobel Prize
Facebook Twitter google+ RSS Feed

World's Top 10 Politicians Who Won the Nobel Prize

By SiliconIndia   |   Friday, 30 November 2012, 13:10 Hrs
cmt right
Comment Right
cmt right
cmt right
Printer Print Email Email

Bangalore: The politicians who strive for change in the world in order to make it a better place for others are precious. And their worth is expressed by honoring them with the Nobel Prize for their remarkable efforts in fighting for the rights of their people. The Nobel Prize is a set of international awards given for various categories by the Scandinavian committees for scientific and cultural endeavors. It’s named after a Swedish engineer Alfred Nobel. Here are the top 10 politicians who have been graced with the Nobel Prize, as per

Aung San Suu Kyi
Aung San Suu Kyi is a Burmese opposition politician. She is also the chairperson of the National League for Democracy in Burma. She stayed under house arrest for 15 years and was released in 2010. In 1991 she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize while she was under house arrest, for her non-violent human rights struggle demanding democracy.  She did not accept the award until 2012 and delivered her Nobel acceptance speech two decades later. She mentioned in her speech that the Prize has given the people of Burma a new ray of hope.

Barack Obama
The 44th and current President of U.S. Barack Obama received the Nobel Prize in 2009 by the Norwegian Nobel Committee. He was awarded for his efforts in fostering cooperation between people and strengthening international diplomacy. Obama’s vision of a world without nuclear weapons was given the most importance. Obama’s presidential rule opened an era of harmonious negotiation and friendly settlement of matters and also played a vital part in him receiving the prestigious award.

Also Read: 10 Eminent Global Thinkers of 2012

next new
Experts on SiliconIndia
Santhosh  K
Sr. Soft. Engg.
Oracle India
Nehal Vyas
Sr. Team Lead
Cyberoam Tech.
Rani Malli
Sr. Director
Sr. Executive
Vijay Balkrishna Konduskar
Business Consultant
Imans Web Tech
Dr L P  Sharma
Technical Director
Reena Khanna
Dellas  Asse
sys-network admin
Computer Station
Write your comment now
Submit Reset