P.K. Sinha Appointed Cabinet Secretary

NEW DELHI: Pradeep Kumar Sinha, an Indian Administrative Services officer of the Uttar Pradesh cadre, was on Friday appointed the new cabinet secretary. He will succeed Ajit Seth for the post.

"Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved the appointment of Pradeep Kumar Sinha as the next cabinet secretary with effect from June 13, 2015," a Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) press release said.

Pradeep Kumar Sinha, currently the Power Secretary, has been named as the next Cabinet Secretary. The 1977 batch Uttar Pradesh cadre IAS will succeed  Ajit Seth, who had got three extensions in that position.

Pradeep Kumar Sinha has been power secretary since July 2013. He has earlier been Secretary, Ministry of Shipping, and has held several other senior positions in the Union Government as well as in Uttar Pradesh.

Rajasthan cadre IAS Rajiv Mehrishi, finance secretary, was also seen as a top contender for the Cabinet Secretary post.

Also Read: HOOQ Video-On-Demand Service Debuts In India
8 Things To Know About the Super Heroes Defending Siachen


Source: IANS