Modi Oath-One of the Biggest Functions in Rashtrapati Bhavan

The guest list will include, besides the foreign leaders, foreign diplomats, members of the former council of ministers, constitutional heads, 777 MPs of both houses, chief ministers, governors and media persons. Some corporate leaders are also expected to attend the swearing in, she said.

Each of the ministers would be allowed to invite four guests, she added.

The ceremony, to begin at 6 p.m., would last approximately one hour and 10 minutes, said officials of Rashtrapati Bhavan, refusing to divulge the number of ministers expected to be sworn in.

Paul said President Mukherjee believes that Rashtrapati Bhavan belongs to the people and that there should be more such occasions to meet and interact with people. Mukherjee has taken several measures to make the presidential palace more accessible to the common man.

In view of security considerations, no bags and telephones will be allowed.

Barring the VVIPs, who will be allowed to come in their cars, the other guests will have to avail of pick and drop facility. For those who are unable to walk in the vast expanse, around 12 horse-drawn buggies will be provided to ferry them. Guests are to be seated in their chairs by 5 p.m., after which the routes would be closed.

Source: IANS