8 Wordsmiths Who Returned Sahitya Akademi Award in 2015
Facebook Twitter google+ RSS Feed

8 Wordsmiths Who Returned Sahitya Akademi Award in 2015

By SiliconIndia   |   Friday, 23 October 2015, 11:07 Hrs
cmt right
Comment Right
cmt right
cmt right
Printer Print Email Email

BENGALURU: India is the secular state and it is doing well as a democratic nation for more than half century. The people of this country are the running force of the nation’s development; each and everyone of the nation have the right to raise their voice and debate of any ill circumstance in the society. No matter of what background the individual carries, he or she can protest in a way they choose. But not hurting the feelings of any citizen of the nation, compiles Top10wala.

“Pen is mightier than sword” as we say this, we also believe that the person who has a pen in his hand brings better things to the society than some one who has a sword in his hand. Recently over rising intolerance, communal atmosphere and continuous attack on free speech, noted authors have returned Sahitya Akademi Award, an eminent award given for literature in India. According to these Authors, protest is against the atmosphere of communal intolerance in India, which they say has plagued the nation.

Here are the 8 noted authors who returned their awards to express their dislike in the recent happenings in the society:

Nayantara Sahgal

Nayantara Sahgal, niece of the First Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and noted writer has returned the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award in protest against what she called the “vanishing space” for diversity. She has returned the award as a protest for the recent disturbing incidents that is happening in India.

Nayantara Sahgal won the award in 1986 for her novel Rich Like Us.

Ashok Vajpeyi

Ashok Vajpeyi is a Hindi poet, essayist and literary-cultural critic, who returned the renowned award to join the protest against the recent murders of writers and minorities. He won the award in 1994 for his poetry collection, Kahin Nahin Wahin.

Sarah Joseph

Sarah Joseph, popular writer and Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award winner returned the award to protest the recent Dadri lynching. She received the award for her novel Aalahayude Penmakkal (Daughters of God the father), which was first published in 1999.

Gurbachan Bhullar

Gurbachan Bhullar returned the Sahitya Akademi award, joining the growing protest by litterateurs against ‘rising intolerance’ and the ‘communal atmosphere’. Gurbachan is a noted Punjabi author who was awarded the Sahitya Akademi for his 2005 book of short stories Agni-Kalas.

Ajmer Singh Aulakh

Ajmer Singh Aulakh, a renowned Punjabi playwright returned his Sahitya Akademi award saying he was very pained by the attacks on progressive writers, leaders of the rational movement. He won the award for his collection of short plays 'Ishak Bajh Nmaz Da Hazz Nahi' (2007).

Atamjit Singh

Atamajit Singh is a renowned Punjabi Play Writer who recently returned his award saying he was upset over the incidents of communal hatred in the country that is currently taking place in India. He won the Sahitya Akademi award for his play ‘Tatti Tavi Da Sach.’

Ghulam Nabi Khayal

Ghulam Nabi Khayal, famous Kashmiri writer and poet raised his concern against continuous religious intolerance. He also said that the religious harmony and secularism of the country is under threat today. He won award for his book Gashik Minaar (Luminaries) in 1975.

Rajesh Joshi

Rajesh Joshi is a Hindi writer, poet, journalist and a playwright who joined fellow writers to raise the voice against the attacks on the freedom of speech and expression in the country. He received the award for his anthology of poems 'Do Panktiyon Ke Beech' (Between Two Lines) in 2002.

Also Read:
Facts That Make Mysore Palace the Best Destination for Dussehra
Seven British-Indians listed in 'Influential Asian People in Britain'


Write your comment now
Submit Reset
Reader's comments(2)
1: Why are they not returning the money as well??
Posted by:raghu - 26 Oct, 2015
2: Good, I don't know who these people are. Hopefully, they have returned the Award money interest also, else the Govt must send them a bill, if not paid, they should be jailed.
Posted by:Krish Mohan - 25 Oct, 2015