2018 Turing Award goes to three AI pioneers

Thursday, 28 March 2019, 04:06 Hrs
cmt right
Comment Right
cmt right
cmt right
Printer Print Email Email
2018 Turing Award goes to three AI pioneers

Three researchers have won the 2018 Turing Award, known as the "Nobel Prize of computing", for conceptual and engineering breakthroughs in artificial intelligence (AI).

Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton and Yann LeCun were named the recipients of the award on Tuesday by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

The award, which carries a $1 million prize, is named for Alan M. Turing, British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing. 

"Artificial intelligence is now one of the fastest growing areas in all of science and one of the most talked-about topics in society," said ACM President Cherri Pancake. "The growth of and interest in AI is due, in no small part, to the recent advances in deep learning for which Bengio, Hinton and LeCun laid the foundation," Pancake said. 

Bengio is Professor at the University of Montreal in Canada, Hinton is Vice-President and Engineering Fellow, Google and Professor Emeritus at the University of Toronto, and LeCun is Professor at New York University and Vice-President and Chief AI Scientist at Facebook.

Working independently and together, Hinton, LeCun and Bengio developed conceptual foundations for AI, identified surprising phenomena through experiments and contributed engineering advances that demonstrated the practical advantages of deep neural networks. 

In recent years, deep learning methods have been responsible for astonishing breakthroughs in computer vision, speech recognition, natural language processing, robotics and other applications.

While the use of artificial neural networks as a tool to help computers recognise patterns and simulate human intelligence had been introduced in the 1980s, by the early 2000s, LeCun, Hinton and Bengio were among a small group who remained committed to this approach.

Though their efforts to rekindle the AI community's interest in neural networks were initially met with skepticism, their ideas recently resulted in major technological advances, and their methodology is now the dominant paradigm in the field.

Bengio, Hinton and LeCun are scheduled to receive the award at ACM's annual awards banquet on June 15 in San Francisco, California.

Read More News:

Big budget films set to clash in 2020

Source: IANS
The Reserve Bank of India injected a total liquidity of Rs 2.98 lakh crore in the market in 20..
The Pentagon has selected Microsoft and Amazon Web Services (AWS, the cloud computing arm ..
"Game of Thrones" author George R.R. Martin doesn't want season eight to be the final chapter of "..
Wiley, a global leader in research and education has announced a series of blended learning progr..
Google Pixel and OnePlus smartphones are catching up and giving stiff competition to Samsu..
Startup City
Youth are leading India's start-up ecosystem where the median age of founder-entrepreneurs..
Enterprise IT
Taking on streaming giants like Netflix and Hulu, Walt Disney Co. has announced it will laun..
Facebook-owned messaging app WhatsApp is still developing its previously announced "Vacatio..
US Indian
Facebook-owned photo messaging app Instagram has launched the beta version of its in-app sh..