11 Scientists Honoured With Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize 2012

By SiliconIndia   |   Thursday, 27 September 2012, 12:01 Hrs   |    2 Comments
cmt right
Comment Right
cmt right
cmt right
Printer Print Email Email

Bangalore: Eleven scientists have been selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize-2012, India’s premier awards in the field of science and technology.

Shantanu Chowdhury of the Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology:

Shantanu Chowdhury bagged the prize in the field of biological sciences. Chowdhury is involved in exploring the functional relevance of DNA secondary structures like G quadruplexes at a genome-wide and molecular level. He has also received ‘National Bioscience Award For Career Development’ in 2010 and Swarnajayanti Fellowship in 2006-07.

Suman Kumar Dhar of the Special Centre for Molecular Medicine at the Jawaharlal Nehru University:

Suman Kumar Dhar also received the prize in the field of biological sciences. He has previously also been honored with many awards like Wellcome Trust Senior International Research Fellowship in London, Swarnajayanti Fellowship, Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India and Alexander Von Humboldt Fellowship awarded by Humboldt Foundation, Germany and many more.

Gangadhar J Sanjayan of the CSIR National Chemical Laboratory, Pune:

Gangadhar J Sanjayan bagged the prize in the area of chemical sciences.

(With PTI inputs)

Also Read: Top 5 Indians Working at NASA

next new
Startup City
Youth are leading India's start-up ecosystem where the median age of founder-entrepreneurs..
Facebook-owned messaging app WhatsApp is still developing its previously announced "Vacatio..
Enterprise IT
Taking on streaming giants like Netflix and Hulu, Walt Disney Co. has announced it will laun..
The Pentagon has selected Microsoft and Amazon Web Services (AWS, the cloud computing arm ..
"Game of Thrones" author George R.R. Martin doesn't want season eight to be the final chapter of "..
Wiley, a global leader in research and education has announced a series of blended learning progr..
US Indian
Facebook-owned photo messaging app Instagram has launched the beta version of its in-app sh..
The Reserve Bank of India injected a total liquidity of Rs 2.98 lakh crore in the market in 20..
Google Pixel and OnePlus smartphones are catching up and giving stiff competition to Samsu..